If you are curious as to how New Jersey statute of limitation affects you, watch this video: Statute of Limitations Video

New Jersey Statutes of Limitations

What is the statute of limitations for your legal rights in New Jersey?

New Jersey Statute of Limitation

Statute of Limitation Laws in New Jersey

New Jersey State SealIn order to convict you of an offense or sue you for monetary gain, your crime, tort or contractual agreement must fall within a certain time-line allowed by law. An New Jersey law on statute of limitations is simply that time which is allotted by the law as written by the state of New Jersey within which you can be convicted or held liable for a debt.

Below is the New Jersey statute of limitations listings for a number of different offenses and torts. While this list is updated regularly, often-times laws in every state get modified, repealed, amended or changed by legislation. Please consult with a qualified New Jersey attorney in this and any other legal matter.

We have found a service where you can ask your legal question for free and get responses only from qualified New Jersey lawyers in that particular field. The form below will help you get started by simply entering your NJ zip code to find a New Jersey state criminal defense, or civil lawyer near you.

Post Your Legal Question For Free to a Qualified Attorney
Justice Scales

Enter Your Zip Code To Find a Lawyer Near You:


Type of Offense Length of Statute
Any Capital Offense:No Limit
Rape:No Limit
Drug trafficking:7 Years
Forgery (felony):7 Years
Counterfeiting(felony):7 Years
Contracts:6 years; or 10 years if under seal
Injury to personal property:6 Years
Open accounts for debt collections:3 Years
Wrongful Death:2 Years
Medical Malpractice Actions:The state of New Jersey provides in their statute of limitations law that for an injury that is immediately detected, the victim has two (2) years to file a medical malpractice claim. If that injury is not immediately detected the patient then has 2 years from the date the injury was discovered, or should have been discovered under reasonable circumstances. For minors injured due to medical negligence they would need to file a claim within 2 years of the statute of limitations period beginning on their 18th birthday. In the case of medical malpractice claims due to birth injuries they must be filed by the minors 13th birthday. If the malpractice injury results in death, the wrongful death claim must be filed within 2 years from the date of death.
Code Section § 2A:14-2
Oral Agreements:4 Years
Fraud:2 years from when the fraud was or reasonably should have been discovered.
Intentional Torts:2 Years
Libel | Slander | Defamation:1 Year
Personal Injury Actions:2 years from the date of injury
Rules for Minors:Limitation period begins to run on the minors 21th birthday, except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death
Products Liability Actions:Within 1 year of the date the injury occurred. Or if the injury is not discovered right away, the plaintiff has within 1 year the injury is, or should have been discovered, to file a law suit
Complete New Jersey criminal revised statute of limitations can be found on the New Jersey Criminal Statute of Limitations page.
Disclaimer: Statute of Limitation laws in every state get modified, repealed, amended, and/or changed by the legislature of that states jurisdiction. The authors and webmaster of StatuteofLimitation.info have made every effort to post the most current laws. Please use this site as a general reference and for comparison purposes. Do not substitute any information from this site for advice you would get from a qualified legal professional

New Jersey Fair Debt Collection Practices Act

In order for an New Jersey debt collector or debt buyer to sue you to collect a debt they have to do that within the time limits that the state of New Jersey law requires. This is what is known as the statute of limitations. If they sue you outside of that statute of limitations then that may violate the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. Even threatening to sue you beyond the statute of limitations can also be considered a Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) violation.

If you are dealing with an unscrupulous New Jersey debt collector that is threatening you with a lawsuit, whether verbal or written, for an old debt, then you need to look at the New Jersey statute of limitations if that debt collector has a potential case against you or has potentially violated the FDCP Act.

Find Lawyer